County Races

This guide is meant to help voters select the most progressive choice for each race, proposition, and ballot measure.

Inclusion in this guide does not equal endorsement. This guide was researched by members of the DSA Ventura County Elections working group and has not been voted on by the chapter at large. Endorsed candidates/campaigns are selected by chapter vote.

County Assessor

  • Bradley Coburn, appraiser
  • Keith Taylor, chief deputy assessor

County Clerk and Recorder

  • Michelle Ascencion, assistant clerk-recorder
  • Bruce Boyer, no ballot designation
  • Jeff Hargleroad, farmer and chief financial officer

Treasurer-Tax Collector

  • Sue Horgan, assistant treasurer
  • Ron Speakman, certified public accountant

State Assembly

38th District

  • Steve Bennett, state assembly member
  • Cole Brocato, small business owner
  • Daniel Wilson, civil servant

42nd District

  • Jacqui Irwin, State Assembly member
  • Lori Mills, businesswoman
  • Ted Nordblum, small business owner


24th District

  • Salud Carbajal, member of Congress
  • Brad Allen, no ballot designation
  • Jeff Frankenfield, global accounts director
  • Michele R. Weslander Quaid, entrepreneur/coach/educator

26th District

  • Julia Brownley, congresswoman
  • Dave Goodman, businessman
  • Matt Jacobs, prosecutor
  • Fadde Mikhail, sports agent
  • Paul Nathan Taylor, businessman

32nd District

  • Brad Sherman, member of Congress
  • Jason Potell, consultant
  • Aarika Samone Rhodes, teacher
  • Raji Rab, aviator
  • Shervin Aazami, non-profit legislative director
  • Lucie Lapointe Volotzky, business owner
  • Melissa Toomim, journalist

Ventura County Supervisor

District 3

■ Claudia Bill-De La Peña

District 4

■ Bernardo Perez

Ventura County Board of Education

Trustee Area 3



Trustee Area 5



   Candidates are running unopposed.

Ventura County Community College District

Trustee Area 3

No recommendation

Trustee Area 4


Santa Barbara County Board of Education

Trustee Area 4

■ No recommendation


Calleguas Municipal Water District 1

Trustee Area 3

■ Kameren Chase Neal

Vote Kameren Chase Neal Facebook Page


Voter Guide

Local Races


State Races

Local Ballot Measures

State Propositions

County Races

Federal Races

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.